Monday, February 17, 2020

Arthrobryozoic Naiad heads to the Meridian Museum of Art

So I entered the 46th Annual Meridian Museum of Art Bi-State Art Competition, 2020 and got my Arthrobryozoic Naiad piece accepted. This is a fun piece I did last year that can be viewed at different angles and has lots of cool layers. It is 24 x 48 inches and done entirely with blue ink on primed birch plywood. 

I often enter this competition and have had some luck with awards. It is always a great show with lots of talented artists from Alabama and MIssissippi. As in other years, quite a few art faculty members will have art in the show, which is great! 

This year's juror is Stephanie Smith, an artist, printmaker, and educator. She earned her B.F.A from the Atlanta College of Art and a M.F.A. with Distinction from the University of Georgia in 1997. Smith is a Senior Lecturer at the University of West Georgia where she teaches drawing, 2D design, printmaking and book arts as well as serving as gallery director. In 2005 she co-founded the non-profit arts organization the Atlanta Printmakers Studio and served as President for the first five years. I imagine selection of accepted pieces was not easy with 322 entries by 114 artists entered. At the end of the day Smith selected 65 works by 51 of those artists. 

Definitely come check this show out and the historic museum itself. Exhibition dates are March 10 - May 16, 2020. There will be an awards reception from 2 to 4 pm on Saturday, May 16, 2020. Please come and join us for what I am sure will be another great show. I personally am looking forward to the reactions to my piece, which could be considered a little risque. 

Arthrobyrozoic Naiad

Arthrobyrozoic Naiad, upside down

Arthrobyrozoic Naiad, detail of top area

Arthrobyrozoic Naiad, detail of central area

Arthrobyrozoic Naiad, detail of bottom section, upside down

Arthrobyrozoic Naiad, detail of bottom left area 

Here is the  list of artists who will have work in the competition/exhibition: 

2020 Meridian Museum of Art BiState Artists

Abreeza Thomas
Addie Louis
Andrea Kostyal
Anne O'Hara
Barbara-Ann Carver-Hunt
Bo Kyle
Brittany Davis
Carolyn Norton
Cecelia Moseley
Charlotte Wegrznowski
David Diodate David
David Stevens
Debra Eubanks
Dee Falls
Euphus Ruth
Gail Morton
Gary Howse
George Ann McCullough
Hanna Lewis
Hannah Wegner
Jill Hammes
Joan McRaney
Joe MacGown
Joe Morzuch
Joely Corban
John Bateman
Leslie Burns
Maria Hughes
Mark Brown
MarySaphrona Grey
Melissa Thorson
Michelle Jones
MJ Dobbins  Morgan
Pat Brown
Pat Gavin
Rachel Strain
Randy Hayward Jolly
Rick Anderson
Robert Gibson
Rowan Williams Haug
Sadako Lewis
Susa Nawrocki
Thomas Nawrocki
Tiffany V. McPeak
Tom Wegrzynowski
Victoria Nichols
Virginia Rougon Chavis
Wesley Ortiz
Whitson Ramsey
William T. Dooley

No comments: